Where does the time go?

It’s been months since I posted, and the baby blanket is still nicely rolled up beside my Crochet Spot in the den! My husband has decided that I miss the interaction with my customers and that I need to start going to the craft shows again after 20 years, so we’ve been going to a little flea market about 20 miles from here. Papa D’s on Facebook, if you’re interested in that kind of thing.

That means that I need to start crocheting marketable things again, and that hasn’t been done for so long that my mind just goes in circles trying to think of things to sell. What sold the last couple of months was girly hats for little girls. And Christmas stuff. And the ever-popular baby blankets, the same pattern I came up with back in the 30-plus years ago. But what I’m in love with right now are thread potholders. You know, those things that are really not serviceable that your grandmother had hanging on her kitchen wall, and she threatened you if you dared try to use it. “Aunt So-and-so made that for me, and I love it – don’t use it!” Those potholders… Here are a couple that I’ve made since the New Year.

And here is the potholder pattern that I actually use, the only one I use in the kitchen because it is double thick but made in one piece.  No, it’s not “that” one, but this one:

http://web.archive.org/web/20040124114259/http://www.sarahanns.com/crochetworks/afgan.html

The potholder pattern is about 1/2 way down the page.  I bought the pattern set back in the very early 1980s, but Sally George’s daughter put the patterns up on her own web site free in memory of her mother.  The potholder is a little tricky to start, but once you get in the rhythm of it you’ll love it.  It’s my take-along project for road trips because I don’t need the pattern anymore!

About countryyarnscrochet

crochet addict and owner of the countryyarns.com web site where I sell crochet patterns galore
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where does the time go?

  1. Welcome back. Good luck with the craft shows too!

  2. Sandie Petit says:

    Those are beautiful! Where will you be selling your wares? At the flea market?

    • Hi Sandie, I’m going to put them on Etsy. The potholders are a sort of service project for the Antique Pattern Library online. They are publishing a lot of really old needlework patterns for free on their web site, all of which are long out of copyright and becoming increasingly hard to find. I’m helping a little by occasionally donating a few $$ for web site maintenance.

Leave a Reply

